Main Cluster (container)

Main Navigation

Mobile Menu Link

Off-Canvas Menu (container)


The Northern Kentuckian of the Year Award


Friday, May 12, 2017

11:15 a.m. - 1:30 pm at

Northern Kentucky Convention Center

The Northern Kentuckian of the Year Award was established in 1996 to recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves as leaders dedicated to the economic and social well-being of the Northern Kentucky region.



Daniel R. Groneck


Dan Groneck was born in 1950 to Joseph and Edith Groneck, becoming the 11th of 21 children. Dan has been married to his wife Elaine for 43 years. They have two sons, Jason and Matthew, both graduates of Covington Catholic High School. Dan and Elaine have four grandchildren.

Dan served as the Northern Kentucky President of U.S. Bank from August 2001 until December 2016. During his more than forty-nine-year career in banking, Dan held several integral roles at .S. Bank, including Vice President of Residential Lending, Senior Vice President and Director of Commercial Real Estate and Senior Vice president of Corporate Community Development. Dan served as advocate and Senior Management Advisor for the Employee Mentor/Mentee Program and the Multicultural and Diversity program.

Community Involvement:

Dan is actively involved in the community and holds positions on several local boards, such as Vice Chair of St. Elizabeth Hospital Foundation, Diocese of Covington Finance Council, Catalytic Development Funding Corp. of Northern Kentucky, Square 1, Inc., the Faith Community Pharmacy, and NKY Education Council. He also serves on the Advisory Council of the Indian American Chamber of Commerce, the Northern Kentucky University Dean of Business Advisory Council, the Thomas More College Building Committee, and the Diocesan Catholic Children's Home Planning Committee. He is an Emeritus member of the Baker Hunt Foundation and the NKY Foundation and past board member of the Dan Beard Council.

Community Impact:

Dan's enthusiasm for non-profit volunteerism started in high school and has never stopped. He continues to be passionately involved in many charitable activities. He has held leadership positions with the Diocese of Covington's parish Annual Appeal, the Alliance for Catholic Urban Education, the Thomas More College Capital Campaign, the United Way and Fine Arts Fund Campaigns, and the Urban League of Greater Cincinnati. Dan is genuinely committed to each and every cause that he takes on. He is known to bring people together in Northern Kentucky in order to advance the causes he cares so deeply about. Anyone who knows Dan, knows that his impact on our community is simply beyond measure.

The Northern Kentuckian of the Year luncheon benefits Covington Catholic High School’s financial assistance program. In 2016-17, 105 students were awarded $450,000 in financial aid. Covington Catholic and its alumni positively impact the Northern Kentucky community, and the luncheon provides a vehicle for the business community to support Covington Catholic’s tradition of excellence in education. Over the past 20 years there have been close to 7,600 people in attendance, and over $1,000,000 has been raised.

Covington Catholic received the National Blue Ribbon Award , presented by the U.S. Department of Education, in 2016. It was only 1 of 2 high schools in Kentucky to receive the award, and is the ONLY high school in Kentucky to have received it TWICE in the past decade (previously awarded in 2007).

2017 Committee Members

Andrew J. VonLehman ‘71

Committee Chair – VonLehman & Co.

Jay Bayer

Bayer Becker

Christopher Bell ‘88

PNC Bank

Donald G. Benzinger

Central Bank

Chad Burke ‘95

GBBN Architects

Craig J. Carlson


Andrew C. Collins ‘86

Bannockburn Global Forex, LLC

John F. Curtin ‘66

Paul Hemmer Company

Michael Dennemann ‘88

U.S. Bank

Susan A. Finke

Covington Catholic High School

David W. Gronotte ‘93

Chase Bank

Bill Holocher ‘71

Roeding Group Companies

Benjie Pieper ‘93


Robert J. Rowe

Principal, Covington Catholic High School

Kyle Ruschman ‘98


Judith M. See

Covington Catholic High School

Frank B. Sommerkamp, Jr. ‘47

Cincinnati Bell (Ret.)

Chad Summe ‘98

Quotient Technology

Kathleen Telles

U.S. Bank

Thomas B. Thelen ‘88

Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.

Drew VonLehman ‘98


Dan Groneck - 2017

Most Reverend Roger J. Foys - 2016

Andrew J. VonLehman - 2015

Buddy LaRosa - 2014

Paul T. Verst - 2013

Bob Hoffer - 2012

Bob Castellini - 2011

Dennis & Joyce Griffin - 2010

John Domaschko - 2009

Matth. Toebben - 2008

Joe Gross - 2007

John Yeager - 2006

Bill Robinson - 2005

Ray Biel - 2004

Ralph Drees - 2003

Paul Hemmer, Sr. - 2002

Bill Butler - 2000

Jim & Bert Huff - 1999

Wayne Carlisle - 1997

Powered by Finalsite